Change the world

Faculty of Law


Executive Dean
Prof Avinash Govindjee
Prof Avinash Govindjee
Position: Executive Dean: Faculty of Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 114
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2676
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Avinash.Govindjee@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA LLB (Rhodes), LLM (UPE) LLD (NMMU), Attorney
Expertise: Labour law, social security law and equality law
My site: http://law.nmmu.ac.za/Prof-Avinash-Govindjee

Academic Staff
Mr David Abrahams
Mr David Abrahams
Position: Lecturer
Department: Public Law
Room: 129B
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2592
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: david.abrahams@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB LLM (Labour Law) (UPE) LLM (International Humanitarian Law) (Geneva)
Expertise: International Humanitarian Law, Public International Law, Labour Law
My site: http://publiclaw.nmmu.ac.za/Staff/Mr-David-Abrahams

Dumisani Apollos
Adv Dumisani Apollos
Position: Lecturer: Criminal and Procedure Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: R104, R Block, North Campus, Summerstrand
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Email: dumisani.apollos@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB; LLM(Criminal Justice) and Compliance Management Certificate
Expertise: Restorative justice and victims rights

Prof Pieter Badenhorst
Prof Pieter Badenhorst
Position: Visiting professor
Qualifications: BLC LLB (UP) LLM (Wits) LLM (Yale) LLD (Pret)
Expertise: Mineral Law, Property Law, Expropriation Law

Dr Lynn Biggs
Ms Lynn Biggs
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: 129A Embizweni
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4242
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: lynn.biggs@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom LLB (UPE) LLM (NMMU)
Expertise: Legal Skills, Labour Law, Franchising Law

Joanna Botha
Dr Joanna Botha
Position: Head of Department: Public Law
Department: Public Law
Room: 118, Embizweni
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2635
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Joanna.Botha@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA LLB (Rhodes), LLD (NMMU), Attorney
Expertise: Freedom of Expression and Hate Speech; Competition Law, Media Law, Moot Court

Lila Crause
Prof Lila Crause
Position: Adjunct Professor
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Mr Eugene Christoffels
Mr Eugene Christoffels
Position: Lecturer
Department: Private Law
Room: 112 Embizweni Building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2868
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Eugene.Christoffels@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA HDE LLB
Expertise: Administration of Deceased Estates
My site: South Campus

Adv Lindi Coetzee
Adv Lindi Coetzee
Position: Senior Lecturer; National Director, Street Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 116 Embizweni
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2077
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Lindi.Coetzee@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UPE), LLM (UNISA), Advocate of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Corporate Law; Law of Insolvency, Street Law

Ms Desiree Lynette David
Ms Desiree Lynette David
Position: Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 1154
Fax: 27 41 4645797
Email: Desiree.David@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Proc LLB (UND) LLM (Unisa) Attorney of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Medical Law, Civil Procedure, Legal Practice

Avatar
Prof Deon Erasmus
Position: Associate Professor, Department Criminal and Procedural Law
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: Embizweni 105
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 9959
Fax: 0866729790
Email: Deon.Erasmus@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Juris LLB LLD
Expertise: Criminal Justice

Glen Goosen
Prof Glen Goosen
Position: Adjunct Professor
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Thokwana
Ms Tina Hokwana
Position: Associate Lecturer
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 130
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 2191
Email: Tina.Hokwana@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (NMMU), Programme in Labour Law Certificate (NMMU), Attorney of the High Court of South Africa
Expertise: Commercial Law, Labour Law, Civil Law, Family Law, Medical Negligence, Litigation

Prof Elmarie Knoetze
Prof Elmarie Knoetze
Position: Professor; Head of Department Private Law
Department: Private Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2193
Fax: 
Email: Elmarie.Knoetze@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB LLM (UPE) LLD (UWC)
Expertise: Customary Law, Law of Succession

Prof Frans Marx
Prof Frans Marx
Position: Emeritus Professor Private Law
Department: Private Law
Location: Off-campus
Email: Frans.Marx@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BCom (Stell) LLB LLD (UPE)
Expertise: Information technology law, law of delict

Mathole Motshekga
Prof Mathole Motshekga
Position: Adjunct Professor
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Prof André Mukheibir
Professor André Mukheibir
Position: Professor
Department: Private Law
Room: Embizweni 115
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2590 or 27 41 504 2190
Fax: 27-41-5042818
Email: Andre.Mukheibir@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BMus BJuris LLB (UPE) BA (Hons) HDE (Unisa) DIuris (Amsterdam), Advocate of the High Court
Expertise: Law of Delict, Law of Damages, Mass Litigation (class actions)
My site: http://connect.nmmu.ac.za/Members/AMukheibir

Leah Ndimurwimo
Dr Leah Ndimurwimo
Position: Lecturer
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: Building 10-0110
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2046
Email: leah.ndimurwimo@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (Tanzania), LLM (NMMU), PhD (NWU)
Expertise: labour law, human rights and transitional justice in Africa and refugee law
My site:  http://law.nmmu.ac.za/Staff

Mr Stephen Newman
Mr Stephen Newman
Position: Lecturer
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: office 111 Embizweni building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 (0)41 504 2582
Fax: +27 (0)41 5041095
Email: stephen.newman@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Com LLB, LLM(cum laude) (UPE), LLM: International Trade Law (Stell), Diploma: Legislative Drafting (Vista University)
Expertise: Consumer Protection, International Trade Law

Zingisile Wiseman Nkukwana
Advocate Zingisile Nkukwana
Position: Lecturer: Criminal and Procedural law department
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: Missionavale campus RM120
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 0415041211
Email: zingisile.nkukwana@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA, STD,Dip in Human Resource Management, LLB, Practical Legal Training certificate, LLM
Expertise: Criminal law, restorative justice and victimology

Mr Thando Qotoyi
Mr Thando Qotoyi
Position: Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 2587
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Thanduxolo.Qotoyi2@nmmu.ac.za

Mr Gary Jon  Richards
Mr Gary Jon Richards
Position: Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 1159
Fax: 27 41 4645797
Email: GaryJon.Richards@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UPE) LLM (UNISA), Attorney
Expertise: Company Law, Insolvency Law

Prof Eltjo JH Schrage
Prof Eltjo JH Schrage
Position: Honorary Professor
Email: e.j.h.schrage@uva.nl
Qualifications: Drs (Groningen) DIuris (Leiden)
Expertise: Private Law, Roman Law, Medieval Law

GlenwinS
Adv Glenwin Sefela
Position: Law Lecturer
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 0106
Location: George Campus
Email: Glenwin.Sefela@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LLB (UWC), LLM (UWC)
Expertise: Environmental Law

Matilda Smith
Ms Matilda Smith
Position: Director - Law Clinic
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: 0104
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 041 504 1199
Email: matilda.smith@nmmu.ac.za

Prof Andrew Mark Tait
Prof Mark Tait
Position: Head of Department: Mercantile Law; Associate Professor
Department: Mercantile Law
Room: Room 108, Embizweni Building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4372
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: mark.tait@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Juris (UPE), LLB (Stellenbosch), MBL (Unisa), LLM (UPE), LLD (NMMU)
Expertise: Consumer Law & Law of Contract

EA Taiwo
Prof EA Taiwo
Position: Research Associate
Department: Public Law
Location: Bird Street Campus

Aifheli Enos Tshivhase
Prof Aifheli Enos Tshivhase
Position: Associate Professor and Head of Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: 109
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2578
Fax: +27 41 504 2818
Email: aifheli.tshivhase@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B Juris LLB (Venda), LLM: Human Rights & Democracy in Africa (Pretoria), Ph.D (UCT), for a thesis entitled: "Military courts in a democratic South Africa: in search of their judicial independence", supervised by Professor Hugh Corder
Expertise: Military Law/Courts/Justice, Constitutional Law, Public Law Aspects of Law and Regional Integration in Africa
My site: http://publiclaw.nmmu.ac.za/Staff/Prof-Aifheli-Enos-Tshivhase

Prof. Hennie J. Van As
Professor Hendrik Van As
Position: Professor of Public Law and Director of the Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Department: Centre for Law in Action (CLA)
Room: Cuyler Street, Central
Location: Bird Street Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1200
Email: Hennie.VanAs@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Iuris, LLB, LLD NDip (Pol) and Advocate of the High Court of SA
Expertise: Local Government Law, Constitutional Law, International Fisheries Crime, Development of new legal qualifications

Mr Eugene Van der Berg
Mr Eugene Van der Berg
Position: Senior Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 2655
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Eugene.VanDerBerg@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris LLB (UPE), Attorney
Expertise: Civil Litigation, firearms control, administrative law

Prof Adriaan Van der Walt
Prof Adriaan Van der Walt
Position: Head: Labour and Social Security Law Unit
Department: Mercantile Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2199
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Adriaan.VanDerWalt@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BJuris BA (Hons) (UPE) LLB (UNISA)
Expertise: Labour Law

Adv. Glynis Van der Walt
Adv. Glynis Van der Walt
Position: Senior Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 504 2587
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Glynis.VanDerWalt@nmmu.ac.za

Prof Patrick Vrancken
Prof Patrick Vrancken
Position: Incumbent of the South African Research Chair in the Law of the Sea and Development in Africa
Department: Public Law
Room: Room 04 Law Services Building
Location: Bird Street Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2200
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Patrick.Vrancken@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: LED (Brussels) LLM LLD (Cape Town)
Expertise: Law of the Sea
My site: http://lawofthesea.nmmu.ac.za

Ms Tanya Wagenaar
Ms Tanya Wagenaar
Position: Lecturer
Department: Private Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Email: tanya.wagenaar@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BA(HMS); BA(HMS) Hons; LLB; LLM
Expertise: Intellectual Property Rights

Mr. Marc Welgemoed
Mr. Marc Welgemoed
Position: Lecturer and Clinical Legal Education Facilitator
Department: Criminal and Procedural Law
Room: 0105, Missionvale Campus
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1299
Fax: 27 41 504 1967
Email: marc.welgemoed@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: B.Juris; LLB; LLM
Expertise: Clinical Legal Education

Administration Staff
Ms Dieketso Billie
Ms Dieketso Billie
Position: Faculty Administrator
Phone: 27 41 504 2474
Fax: 27 41 504 1993
Email: dieketso.mbonjwa@nmmu.ac.za

Evronc
Ms Evron Chase
Position: Admin Assistant (Postgraduate Studies)
Department: Faculty of Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4624
Email: Evron.Chase@nmmu.ac.za

Ms Elize Grobler
Ms Elize Grobler
Position: Secretary: Private Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 5041777
Fax: 27 41 5042190
Email: Elize.Grobler@nmmu.ac.za

Sibusisiwe Mtyhobile
Mrs Sibusisiwe Mtyhobile
Position: Executive Secretary
Department: Faculty of Law
Room: 113
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4688
Fax: 27 41 504 9115
Email: Sibusisiwe.Mtyhobile2@nmmu.ac.za

Siyasamkela
Ms Siyasamkela Nyingwashe
Position: Course Coordinator
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 124
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 041 504 4374
Email: siyasamkela.nyingwashe@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: Ndip IT( Support Services)

Avatar
Mrs Rochelle Redcliffe
Position: Secretary: Dept of Public, Criminal & Procedural Law
Department: Faculty of Law
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2198
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Rochelle.Redcliffe@nmmu.ac.za
My site: South Campus

Ms Zelda Slabber
Ms Zelda Slabber
Position: Manager: Faculty Administration
Department: Faculty Administration & Timetabling
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 4614
Email: Zelda.Slabber@nmmu.ac.za

Ms Erina Strydom
Ms Erina Strydom
Position: Secretary: Mercantile Law
Department: Academic Administration
Room: 090135
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2283
Fax: 27 41 504 2818
Email: Erina.Strydom@nmmu.ac.za

Nikki Terblanche
Ms Nikki Terblanche
Position: Manager: Faculty Administration (Law)
Department: Academic Administration
Room: R104 Embizweni Building
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: +27 41 504 2588
Fax: +27 41 504 9660
Email: Nikki.Terblanche@nmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: N Dip Bus Comp(PET)