Change the world

Faculty of Law


Prof van As was invited to join the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) Technical Committee (TC) on Fisheries. He attended the 37th meeting of the TC in Windhoek, Namibia from 18-20 March 2019 and addressed the meeting on the FishFORCE model for addressing organised crime in the fisheries environment.  The TC was chaired by Dr Moses Maurihungirire, Executive Director in the Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources (MFMR) of the Republic of Namibia.

The TC was attended by 58 delegates representing 14 SADC Member States including, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe; as well as regional and sub-regional partners including, Benguela Current Commission (BCC), Food Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FARNPAN), Lake Tanganyika Authority (LTA), Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization (LVFO), Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources (LUANAR), Nelson Mandela University (NMU), Southern African Non-State Actors Platform for Fisheries and Aquaculture (SANSAFA), South West Indian Fisheries Organization (SWIOFC), University of Namibia (UNAM), United States AgencyUSAID Resilient Waters Program Southern Africa, World Bank funded SWIOFish Project, and International Cooperating Partners (ICPs) including Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), World Animal Health Organization (OIE), WorldFish and World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF); and representatives of the SADC Secretariat.


The importance for FishFORCE is the establishment of a SADC Regional Fisheries Monitoring Control and Surveillance Coordination Centre (MCSCC) in Maputo. Part of the functions of the MCSCC) will be capacity building and the SADC Task Force on IUU Fishing and of the FISH-i Africa Task Force has already indicated that it is envisaged that the training offered by the FishFORCE Academy will form part of the work of the MCSCC.